current

archives/rings

about me

diaryland

guestbook

leave a note

review

surveys

ansel adams

birth story

cloth diapering

Thursday, Nov. 21, 2002
Sucky maternity clothes

Note to other pregnant women out there - Don't buy maternity clothes from Old Navy or Gap (they have to be ordered online). Or if you do, inspect them CAREFULLY, and try them on before you take the tags off. The quality of the maternity clothes at these places is really disappointing. Old Navy has always been a little iffy, but Gap usually has nice stuff. I didn't expect the sweaters to be paper thin, and the t-shirts to be sub-par. The long sleeve ones are slightly too short, and the short sleeve ones are cut really poorly. The necks are too big, and with every movement you end up with a bunched up chest. Ugly. One Old Navy tee I bought is crooked in front, and I didn't notice until I had it on, and their jeans don't have drawstrings in them (like they do at Motherhood) so you can't wear them in the earlier months.

I wish I hadn't gotten so excited when I found out I was pregnant that I went out and bought maternity clothes before I really needed them. Now I've had them for 3 months, I took off the tags because they looked okay when I took them out of the box (except I could tell right away that a couple of the sweaters were really thin, but I decided I could live with it). So, now if I were to try and return anything with a real flaw on it, they would think I was trying to get away with something.

I hate returning things even when I have the receipt, the tags are on, and I got it only a week ago. But, there's nothing worse than trying to return something in a not-so-ideal situation. It must come from working in retail all those years - and seeing what people would try to get away with returning. I always thought they were crooks. So, now I think that's what they must think of me if I try to do it.

I remember people trying to return black body suits, that reeked of smoke, the day after Halloween. And shoes or clothes that we hadn't carried for two seasons - with obvious signs of wear. Sometimes they'd be completely worn OUT... but people would try to return them anyway. Just to get 3 dollars in credit from the store. And we would always give it to them. I think store policies have gotten more strict since then. Even at the discount stores.

This was Kmart, by the way. My first job. I saw a lot of winners go through there, I tell you. What an interesting lot of people. One time this couple came down from the hills or something. They looked and smelled as though they hadn't bathed in 3 months. It was right before Christmas, and they were looking at watches. I worked at the jewelry counter, so me and my nose had the pleasure of waiting on them. After they left I had to clean all the cases again because just one touch from their hands left a slimey, greasy mess on the glass. You couldn't even see in some of them when they were done.

Sometimes I would get people trying to bring back a herringbone bracelet or necklace (one of the most delicate kinds) with 50 kinks in it, only a week after they had purchased it - saying it must be flawed. I would try to tell them that herringbone necklaces can't be worn to bed or in the shower, or playing sports. If you are an active person and want to wear the necklace all the time, you should really go with something more sturdy, like a rope chain or a link of some type. Herringbones are known to kink - that's what they do. You have to be very careful with them. But, they would rarely listen. They wanted the herringbone. They would leave upset with me for not exchanging their kinked up necklace so they could wreck another one. Some people.

Ciao-Pazzobello

previous - next

� 2002 pazzobello
designed by pazzobello, coded by: MyDesign.