current

archives/rings

about me

diaryland

guestbook

leave a note

review

surveys

ansel adams

birth story

cloth diapering

Tuesday, Dec. 09, 2003
Snow Storm!

Boy was it scary driving Lucy to daycare this morning. We got a bunch of snow last night, and it's still snowing this morning, and it is SLICK out. I lost control of my car a couple of times, and I never went any faster than 30 miles per hour. A lady in front of me totally spun around and I had to stop quickly in order to not hit her. And a guy behind me was a little too close for comfort... I had to turn and started to slide past, so I pumped my brakes. He got the hint and slowed down early, thank God.

A semi got stuck on the street I needed to go down, and all the cars were backed way up because they had to go around it. What a mess. I don't think I'm going to be running many errands at lunch today. Not unless it gets considerably better. Luckily I finished up most of my Christmas shopping yesterday. I was just going to go to the post office to ship off some gifts to my folks house, but that's pretty close to work, so I should be able to swing it.

I'm never watching Fear Factor again. It makes me dream about eating disgusting things. That show is over-the-top gross. I never watched it in the past, but Pete and I heard that this chick from the Timberwolves dance team was going to be on it, and we recognized which one, so we watched that episode. She had to eat something called an "African Cave-dwelling Spider" - and it was freaky looking. But, that was nothing compared to last night's episode. I don't know what made us watch it again, but no more. They had to eat a live worm sausage, a cod egg sack covered in ants, and rotten squid covered in flies. Now, I ask you, how do these people eat this shit and not get severely sick. It's no small portion either. And then this other guy is freaking out because he has to eat a couple of dragonflies - that's NOTHING! I felt sorry for the dragonflies!

So, half the office and the entire daycare has had the flu now. The daycare thing may be our fault, but I don't think the work thing is. Everybody at daycare came down with it on Friday, so I'm guessing Lucy wasn't quite over the bug when I brought her back on Tuesday. But, even three days is longer than it's been taking most people to get it after they've been exposed, so maybe it isn't our fault after all.

Then this guy at work had a house-warming party on Friday, and half the people at the party got sick over the weekend. I don't think that was us, because nobody that we work with in the production department has come down with it. So, somebody else at the party must have been carrying the bug. Everybody thought it was food poisoning at first, but Pete and I both ate and didn't get sick, so I think it's the flu, and we weren't affected because we've already had it.

Lucy had a terrible night last night. It's so unpredictable. Sunday night she did so well, got up only one time and slept until 8am - perfect! I thought it was the beginning of some more good stuff to come. But, then last night she got up at 1:30, 4:00, 5:30, and then again at 6:45. She was very crabby this morning for me and Pete. Hopefully she'll be better at daycare with the kids to entertain her.

Tonight I'm on my own because Pete is going to a Wild game with a friend. I hope her mood has improved by then!

I suppose I'd better dig up some work to do.

Ciao-Pazzobello

previous - next

� 2002 pazzobello
designed by pazzobello, coded by: MyDesign.