current

archives/rings

about me

diaryland

guestbook

leave a note

review

surveys

ansel adams

birth story

cloth diapering

Monday, Jan. 12, 2004
Trip & house hunting

We've already been back for almost a week, and I haven't made time to write yet.

Our trip was okay - it had it's good points and it's bad points. Lucy just wasn't herself. She started teething while we were there, she now sports two cute little bottom teeth! Plus, we both came down with some type of a cough. It seems to be hanging on forever. So, I don't know if she was complainy because of her teeth, her cough, or because she just wasn't familiar with her surroundings.

The flights were hit and miss - there were 2 there and 2 back. On the way there, she slept very little, but as long as we kept her entertained, she didn't really fuss much. On the way back she was horrible on the first flight which, fortunately, was the short one, and then slept through all but about 50 minutes of the second one. Flying at night paid off in that respect. Who cares if my arms lost all feeling :)

She did sleep well while we were there - which was unexpected. Her naps weren't great, but she slept through the night every night, which made me very happy.

The weather was beautiful - three days of upper 70's - I didn't pack well for it, but I'm not complaining - we made due.

On the down side, my folks are just not used to having a baby around, I guess. Because they offered very little assistance with Lucy while we were there. I felt kind of stressed a lot of the time, because Pete and I were trying to keep her happy in new situations like eating out, shopping at the market and walking on the pier. I guess I expected my family to want to hold her and stuff all the time, and there was very little of that. It was kind of odd. They all seemed very interested in her and were loving towards her, but I guess they were all afraid to hold her because she's such a Mamma's girl, and they figured she'd fuss if they tried to take her from me.

All in all, not a bad trip - but I'm not in any hurry to jump on a plane again anytime soon. I'm just happier when things are calm.

Now that we're back, we're on the house hunt again. We're sick of living in such a crowded space - it's time for more room. We have an appointment with a realtor (a friend that lives in our building) on Thursday. She expects that we'll be able to sell our condo for more than we were originally thinking - which would be nice considering the houses we generally like are about $20-30 thousand more than we can afford. She's sold many of the condos in the building and has a very good idea of what they can get. We will go look at houses on Saturday, and hopefully it will all go very quickly. I'm excited. I wish we were doing it sooner!

But, it will all happen soon enough, I'm sure. She's had very good luck with the sale of all the other condos. Pete thinks she'll sell ours quickly. I just hope we can find something we like as fast.

Ciao-P

previous - next

� 2002 pazzobello
designed by pazzobello, coded by: MyDesign.