current

archives/rings

about me

diaryland

guestbook

leave a note

review

surveys

ansel adams

birth story

cloth diapering

Tuesday, Mar. 23, 2004
Decorating - yay!

We bought new furniture for the new house this weekend. I can't stop thinking about it, I'm so excited - I'm obsessed! We found out that to get the couch and chairs in the colors we want, it will take about 6-8 weeks. I'm soooooo glad we found that out now, instead of after we move in. I would've been bummed if I'd have had to wait another 8 weeks after we moved in to get any furniture in the living room! So, with ordering it this last weekend, we'll only have to wait 2 weeks at the most after we move in to get it - yay!

I ordered a slate blue couch (it's called midnight) in a microfiber suede like material - along with two khaki-like (called tumbleweed) colored chairs in the same design and material. The coffee table and end table we can add on later, as long as we do it before the delivery date. And I found a big rug that I absolutely LOVE to go on the hardwood floors - very hard to describe though. It has both of those colors in it (along with many others), on kind of a cream background. Lots of stuff going on without being too busy - kind of a leafy -organic pattern, very pretty. So, now I think I can get one of my favorite Van Gogh paintings to go above the mantel and it will coordinate - Les Irises.

I'm spending money like crazy. The furniture I can finance with no interest as long as I pay it off before January 2005. I should be able to do that. But, the painting, and a few odds and ends for Lucy's room are all going on my credit card - so I need to be careful. I think I've almost hit the $1000 mark. I really should try not to go into debt anymore than that. I was going to get a new shower curtain and bath rugs for the master bath, but it will have to wait. I can't do it all in one day, now can I? And that would be boring anyway. Decorating over time will be more fun... always something to look forward to!

For Lucy's room, I plan to paint in a periwinkle blue slash lavenderish color - and I'll paint little yellow moons and stars in a line around the middle - like a border. I've ordered lavender and yellow sheer curtains and a yellow chenille rug. It should be pretty. I'm excited to do it. All her accessories for her bed and changing table are already yellow, so I won't have to get new stuff for that.

Eventually I'd like to get a dresser that matches the footboard and headboard I already have - currently the furniture in the bedroom doesn't match. That will have to be another down-the-road thing.

Decorating is so much fun!! I could be having a ball with this for years!

Ciao-P

previous - next

� 2002 pazzobello
designed by pazzobello, coded by: MyDesign.