current

archives/rings

about me

diaryland

guestbook

leave a note

review

surveys

ansel adams

birth story

cloth diapering

Tuesday, Jun. 15, 2004
She walks!

Lucy is officially walking now. She surprised her Grandma at her cousin's birthday party on Sunday by walking all the way down the hall to see her. She's still a bit clumsy, but at least she'll let go of my finger.

Natalie's 1st birthday party was nice. We had a beautiful sunny day, so Barb took out the kiddie pools. Lucy didn't really have any interest in getting in the water, but she stood and stared at it for a good half hour. Once the other kids settled down to eat, then she started toddling around the yard and checking things out. She looked so cute in her little swim suit and sun hat.

We're debating whether or not we want to go to the cabin for the 4th. We haven't been there in so long, and we now know that Lucy can handle being around a lot of active people and sleeping in a new environment, so we're not worried about that. The thing I'm concerned about is the fireworks. A couple of years ago, before Lucy was born, I remember Pete's brother's little girl, Bridget, was really scared from the loud noises. She was trembling and just plain terrified - and her own father wouldn't stop setting them off. I was really pissed at him for torturing her like that. I don't want Lucy or the other little girls to go through that this year. So, I guess the only way I'd be willing to go is if we made the boys promise to go elsewhere to set off thier fireworks - maybe out on the boat or something.

To be perfectly honest, I hate fireworks myself. I just don't see the enjoyment of listening to an ear-popping crack over and over. I understand the draw of the pretty ones with the lights and sparkles, but just a plain old loud pop? I just don't get it.

I finally applied at a couple of restaurants. I thought one of them was going to call me back, because I actually got to talk to one of the managers, and she seemed very pleased that I had experience and would be willing to work weekends. She also said that they were losing two servers for the summer, so she was sure they'd be hiring. She wasn't the server manager - but she said she'd pass my application along to him and tell him we chatted. That was last Thursday, and I haven't heard back yet. I suppose I should call them if I don't hear back soon. I just hate doing that. I never know exactly what to say in order to not sound presumptuous.

Last night Tracy and I went out to dinner and we had to switch tables because our waiter was positively DRIPPING with sweat. It was totally disgusing. Then he rubbed his nose and his forehead off and proceeded to pick up a stack of clean plates. We told the hostess the area was too smoky and asked to be moved to another section. It was really gross.

If it's nice on Thursday or Friday I think I'm going to take Lucy to the beach. I need to get her used to the setting before our trip to Charleston in three weeks. She always needs to be exposed to things a few times before she gets comfortable, so I don't want to waste half of our vacation inside the beach house because she doesn't want to go outside on the sand.

Okay, I guess I have work to do.

Ciao-P

previous - next

� 2002 pazzobello
designed by pazzobello, coded by: MyDesign.