current

archives/rings

about me

diaryland

guestbook

leave a note

review

surveys

ansel adams

birth story

cloth diapering

Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
The trip

Our trip down to CR was quite nice. The funeral went well - we had a beautiful day. It was hard seeing Gramps in that casket... it just didn't look like him.

Seeing all that family was amazing. I got to see absolutely everybody! It was so nice. Lucy was a dream. She slept about half the way down, and the other half was really quite good. Pete sat back there with her and fed her breakfast for awhile and then entertained her.

We were going to try and get on the road by 6am. I remembered the drive taking about 4 1/2 hours - so that would get us there at 10:30, and the funeral was at 11:00. Well, we didn't get on the road until about 6:15 - and we forgot to allot for the extra 10-15 minutes further North that we are now. So, we made it just barely in time for the start of the service.

Lucy got along great with all the new faces and sleeping in a different place for every nap. She actually slept quite well. Not sure if it was the antibiotic she was taking or just sleepy from all the excitment. I suppose it could be all the walking she's doing that's wearing her out as well. It was good though. We made a point of leaving close to her bedtime to get home, so she would sleep, but she stayed awake for almost the first 4 hours! I think she fell asleep for about a half an hour or 45 minutes right away, then woke up and was just a little angel jabbering back there. Then she got a little fussy for a short period of time after we stopped at a rest stop and let her walk around for a little bit. She didn't want to get back in the car seat after that.

I'm really looking forward to the trip down to SC this July now that I know she does so well in new environments. I just wish Pete was coming with, but he doesn't want to spend the money.

Speaking of which - we have never fought about money. It's supposed to be the thing most couples fight about - but we never did. That is, until now. I'm extra broke all the time now that I'm only working part time. And Pete's feeling extra broke all the time now that we bought a new house. And it's so hard. I hate fighting about this stupid stuff. I'm beginning to think I'm going to have to pick up a waitressing job 2-3 nights a week to help out. If I could get one Thu, Fri, Sat or Sun - then I could be with Lucy all day and wouldn't feel too guilty leaving her with Daddy at night - they need the bonding time anyway. But, I would never do it on a Mon, Tue or Wed night - I miss her so much during the day. I look forward to those 3 hours before her bedtime that I get to spend with her. I don't know if I could find a restaurant to hire me for only those nights. But, they usually are the busiest nights - Fri & Sat anyway, so maybe.

Sometimes I think I might like waitressing again, just for a little while. Maybe I'd get back in shape! And sometimes the thought makes me sick to my stomach. I did it for so many years. I just don't know if I want to do it again.

Ciao-P

previous - next

� 2002 pazzobello
designed by pazzobello, coded by: MyDesign.