current

archives/rings

about me

diaryland

guestbook

leave a note

review

surveys

ansel adams

birth story

cloth diapering

Monday, Jun. 21, 2004
Lawyer Garble

Pete and I just got back with a long meeting with a lawyer. We have been called to a deposition tomorrow, and the lawyer on our side wanted to kind of let us know what to expect.

About a year and a half ago, the company I work for split in two - you may remember me talking about it in my journal. Technically, two former employees opened up an agency of their own and took a few of our clients with them. Anyway, the company I work for is sueing them for a plethera of things, one of which is copywrite infringement. That's where I come in. At least four of the ads we are claiming they stole I worked on. Pete's involved in some other stuff, including soliciting employees and such, because they offered him a job to work there.

Actually, it's very odd, because it's THEIR lawyers that are calling us to depose, not ours. It would seem like we would be a lot more help to our side, but apparently they're going to try and poke holes in our stories. And I just found out that the two former employees that are now owners of the new agency are going to sit in on it. I haven't seen them since they left, and it's all very nerve racking.

We have to get up extra early to drop off Lucy at the earliest possible time at daycare - drive downtown (in horrid traffic I'm sure) to meet with our lawyer one more time for 30-40 minutes before Pete goes in at 9am. I am to either sit around in the waiting room until they're done (possibly as long as 2 hours), or find something to do until 11am when it's my turn. That will take another 2 hours and then we can finally eat. We've already decided we're going to go straight to the closest pub and round off a couple shots.

I'll let you know how it goes.

5 minutes after I wrote that, the lawyer called me to see if I would be comfortable speaking on our behalf. Apparently she feels I would be beneficial to our case - so I guess I spoke too soon. This isn't going to be over any too soon, I can just tell.

Wish me luck!

Ciao-P

previous - next

� 2002 pazzobello
designed by pazzobello, coded by: MyDesign.