current

archives/rings

about me

diaryland

guestbook

leave a note

review

surveys

ansel adams

birth story

cloth diapering

Thursday, Jan. 30, 2003
We're Ready!

We've made quite a lot of progress this last week in preparing for the baby... We've registered at both Babies 'R' Us, and Target. We've ordered a crib and dresser/changing table from USA Baby, and I've finally decided on the type of diapers I want to use (we're going with cloth, so there was some extensive research involved) - and I ordered my starter set. We should be pretty well set!

Now I don't know what to do with myself.

I have gained 14 pounds as of this morning. It's starting to get more and more real. When I saw 130lbs staring back at me, it was kind of scary - but I'm sure it's nothing compared to when I see 140! And it will happen, no doubt about it!

I've had some serious pains lately. Almost like the sides aches you get when you've been running - only more towards the front. I don't know what's causing them. Probably either stretching pains, or the baby had her foot in my ribs or something.

She is 1 and 1/3 lbs now. It won't be long before she will be 3 1/2 lbs and that will be quite the momentous occasion, because my niece was born at that weight, and she is a beautiful, healthy, normal-sized 9 year old now.

I've been into pampering myself lately. I spent $95 on my appearance this week. First I got a haircut and some highlights on Tuesday. I really like how it turned out. And yesterday I got a manicure. I had gel nails put on. I'm not 100% happy with them, but I didn't expect to be.

You see, my best friend, Tracy used to do gel nails out of her home, (for those of you who don't know what gel nails are - they are a little different than acrylics because they are less hard and less damaging, but also look more natural) and she did such a beautiful job that I got really spoiled. She was the first person to put nails on me - I never thought it was something I would be interested in. Now that she has me hooked, she doesn't do them anymore, not even for me - (she got carpel tunnel from it and refuses to go through that kind of pain anymore, understandably.) But, there is only one salon in the entire Twin Cities, that I have found, that does gels - and they just aren't as good at it as Tracy. They use a different technique that makes them come out slightly thicker, which I find unappealing. It probably makes them sturdier, but I prefer natural-looking over more durable.

Fortunately, after years of watching Tracy do my nails, I have learned how to maintain them myself quite well. And I bought everything I need to do it over a year ago. I still have a little trouble putting them on, though. So, I can file them down to the way I like them, once they're on, and all will be well. I just didn't have time to do it last night - so today they're not as gorgeous as I would like. It's a work in progress, ya know.

That's all - I've bored you long enough. Ciao-Pazzobello

previous - next

� 2002 pazzobello
designed by pazzobello, coded by: MyDesign.