current

archives/rings

about me

diaryland

guestbook

leave a note

review

surveys

ansel adams

birth story

cloth diapering

Wednesday, Feb. 19, 2003
Changing friendships & "The Mystery of the Broken Glass"

I'm becoming aware of some unexpected life changes already occuring before the baby is even here. Specifically with friendships.

I am sensing a growing distance between me and one of my closest friends. She and I just don't seem to have anything to talk about lately. I feel self conscious talking about baby stuff all the time, because I don't want to bore her. She doesn't have any children herself, so I think she is having a difficult time relating to me and how big this is for me.

She is falling in love and going through all that exciting new romance stuff. Which is always fun to hear about, but unfortunately, in this case, I'm having a hard time understanding it because I don't care too much for the guy. I'm trying - sort of. But, I just can't talk to him. He's very strange and he makes me uncomfortable - I can't seem to get past it.

Anyway, the combination of the two things makes for some struggled conversations lately, and I find myself avoiding being alone with her. I think she may be doing the same.

But on a brighter note, I think I have developed a new friendship for similar reasons. Me and a girl at the office have bonded because we're both pregnant and our due dates are only 2 weeks apart. She's already a Mom and is full of helpful advice for me. I don't know what I would 've done without her so far - as my doctor has been less than loose-lipped about many things. And I can talk baby talk 'til I'm blue in the face with her!

Tonight we have ANOTHER birthday party to go to. Our nephew, John turns 6. Their 4 kid's birthdays all fall within 3 months of each other - and over Christmas to boot. I don't know if I would be inclined to have a party for every single one of them if that were the case in my clan - but to each his own, I guess.

We went to Zany Brainy during lunch to find him a gift. I found a cute rattle for our baby on clearance. They also have these super cool bibs that I've always been on the lookout for - they're made out of a plasticy-rubber material that curves at the bottom to catch the majority of the food that gets dropped or drooled out of the baby's mouth. You never have to machine wash them, just wash them and set them on the drying rack to be ready for the next feeding - so you really only need one! My Aunt and Uncle had one for all three of their kids and it always seemed like such a great idea. My only concern is that this one is smaller, so I'm sure she'll out grow it. I'll have to find one in a bigger size eventually.

We had a weird occurance in our garage today. There was broken glass all over by the passenger side door. It looked like it was originally a pane of glass. It was in pieces all over the floor, and partially under my car. My car is in tact, so we have no idea where it came from.

The bummer is that this garage is not ours - we're renting it from a couple that lives in our building who go to Arizona from January through March. We don't remember seeing anything with glass in it on their walls or anywhere - but it must be their's, and we feel bad that it got broken.

The only other explaination is that there is about a foot of open space at the tops of the garages, right before the ceiling. This garage is connected to two others, and somehow a pane of glass could've come from one of their garages, I suppose - I just can't fathom how.

Anyway, It's a mystery - we may not find out what it was until the couple we're renting the garage from comes back for the summer. Or we may never know.

That's all for now. Ciao-Pazzobello

previous - next

� 2002 pazzobello
designed by pazzobello, coded by: MyDesign.