current

archives/rings

about me

diaryland

guestbook

leave a note

review

surveys

ansel adams

birth story

cloth diapering

Wednesday, Jun. 02, 2004
Takin' a little trip

My Grandpa died. We are going to drive down to Cedar Rapids on Friday morning for the funeral. I'm looking forward to seeing a lot of family that I haven't seen in a very long time. Some of them not since my Grandmother died 16 years ago.

He wasn't doing very well this year. He had a bad fall and did some damage. He wasn't quite coherant and my parents had to put him in a nursing home. He wasn't happy there, because he was used to being quite independant. I was relieved that he passed sooner rather than living out many months or years in an unhappy situation.

He was 94 years old and lived a long, healthy, happy life - you can't ask for more than that!

On the lighter side: The house is livable now. I truly love our new carpet - it's soft and pretty, and best of all, it smells good! We can live in our family room now - it's like our house size doubled in one day. Now I can start concentrating on what I want to do next, decorating-wise. I've got some ideas for painting. I'll have to go to the hardware store and pick up some paint samples.

Pete's party was a big success. I surprised him and he's still bringing it up occasionally, even now - so I know he really enjoyed himself. It was a fairly good showing, even though when I was making the calls it seemed like half the people were going to be out of town. It was a rainy, blustery day, so I made white chicken chili - and I got tons of compliments on it. It was yummy - in fact, I feel like eating some left overs of it right now! Unfortunately I'm at work, so that aint' gonna happen. Maybe for dinner.

Lucy has been battling this nasty cold for almost 2 weeks now. I called this morning and got her an appointment for tomorrow. I want to make sure she doesn't need an antibiotic or something - especially before we take the trip down to Iowa. Some nasty stuff started growing on my tonsils and I think it may be the beginnings of strep. So if that's what I've got - that's probably what Lucy's got. Poor little thing. She should never have to be sick... it's not fair.

She's walking now. She still prefers to hold on to your hand, but when she's not thinking about it, she'll take as many as 7 steps without realizing it. She did it last night when Pete was wrestling with me. She was standing a few feet away from us holding onto something and as soon as Pete tackled me she got all excited laughing and walked over to us without even thinking about it :)

I want to buy a pair of Birks. I can't afford them, by any means - but I got a bug up my butt that I must own a pair. They have a new store over on Grand in St Paul, so I thought I might drive over there for lunch and try some on. I thought about buying a pair on ebay - new of course - but they just aren't the same. They're always called Betula, and I think those are some kind of lower quality version that they used to sell on the H0me Sh0pping Ntwk or something. I dont' know if that's true, but that's what I heard.

Okay, I think I'm done with my boring jabberings. Ciao for now-P

previous - next

� 2002 pazzobello
designed by pazzobello, coded by: MyDesign.