current

archives/rings

about me

diaryland

guestbook

leave a note

review

surveys

ansel adams

birth story

cloth diapering

Monday, Aug. 16, 2004
emotional weekend

So, I picked my Mom up LATE on Friday night. Her flight arrived around 12:30 am. We stayed up until 3:00 am talking. She seems to be doing pretty well, but I think she's still not entirely sure she's doing the right thing.

I was a wreck on Friday. I cancelled my birthday plans with Tracy because I could just tell that I wasn't going to be any fun to be around. I napped through dinner, because I knew I would be up late, and I'm just not used to that.

Saturday was actually kind of nice. My friend Ben was in town so he stayed over. I made chicken mannicotti for dinner and everybody raved about it. Then we had a bon fire. It was nice. We all drank just a little too much though. My Mom told me some stuff that I'm not sure I wanted to know. Mostly about how dramatic my Dad can be. I offered to call him and try to tell him what she needs, and to find out if this is really what HE wants. My parents don't communicate. I think if they did get back together, they would have to consider some counceling because they're both pretty clueless as to how to talk to one another. I decided I will call Dad Wednesday from work and try to get some answers. He works on Mon, Tue anyway - but mostly I just think he needs her to be away for a little while before he can really feel her absence. Right now it probably just feels like she's on vacation and will be coming back. Maybe Wednesday is even too soon.

Even as I write that, I sort of feel like maybe I'm doing the wrong thing. Maybe I should make my Mom do it herself. How are they going to learn to talk to each other if she makes me do it for her?

By the way, HUGE thanks to souljourn for your kind reassurances. You're a good friend, and I am thankful for you.

I had a nice birthday... except that I fell on my ass cleaning the kitchen floor. I was mopping and I stepped on a wet spot and lost my balance. I fell hard, and now have a bruised tailbone and my shoulder blade is in some pain. Stupid klutz.

I didn't do anything special all day, but Pete took me out to the Melting Pot for dinner - a new fondue restaurant in Minneapolis for my birthday. It was fabulous! We got the big feast with 4 courses. It was incredibly filling. It was all very good except for the cheese course. We both found that to be a little disappointing. Maybe it was just the type we chose. There were serveral to choose from and we got the swiss one - maybe the cheddar or the spinach and artichoke one would've been better. The main course included lobster, shrimp, steak and chicken. The lobster was heavenly. And the desert course was positively sinful. It was the "flaming turtle" with milk chocolate, caramel and pecans...mmmmmm. I highly recommend it if you have one in your area. It's a long process, but a lot of fun for a special occasion. I enjoyed my husband's company.

He's been so awesome through this whole separation thing. He knows how to talk to my Mom to make her feel better, and he's more than willing to allow her to stay with us as long as she needs to, so she doesn't feel rushed in getting an apartment. She's says I'm very lucky, and I know it to be true.

Ciao-P

previous - next

� 2002 pazzobello
designed by pazzobello, coded by: MyDesign.